top of page
  • billvimh

Concert Review: Jinjer w/ P.O.D., Vended & Space of Variations - November 7th, 2022


Jinjer and their crew rolled through on November 7th, 2022 at the most excellent House of Blues on Dearborn St. in beautiful downtown Chicago.


This portion of the tour brought out Space of Variations, Vended, P.O.D. and of course, Jinjer.


I hadn’t heard of Space of Variations prior to this show/tour. So I wasn’t sure what to expect. These 4 men from Ukraine, came out and left it all out on the stage. You can hear their passion in the music and see it in their performance. Being an opener, they have a shorter set, and a smaller stage. That didn’t slow them down though. They left it all out there on the stage. Check out Space of Variations, they’re pretty fantastic.


Vended was next up on stage. We have all heard what Griffin Taylor sounds like in recordings, he sounds very similar to his father, Corey Taylor of Slipknot. Does Griffin sound that way live though, or is it just some clever studio work? He’s legit, I would honestly say he sounds better than his dad. Vended as a whole, has so much energy. Loud and raucous are probably a couple of the best words to describe their live sound, while chaotic and energetic describes their physical presence on stage. I wasn't sold on them before seeing them live. I’m buying in now though. Sometimes it takes seeing a band live to really “get it”, at least for me it does.


I really don’t have too much to say about P.O.D. They came out, played the songs everyone knew, and put on a good show. Everyone was pretty happy with them. I’ve never been a huge P.O.D. fan personally, but they still had a good show though and were very entertaining.


We were at this show to see Jinjer though.


This was my first time seeing them live, and wow was it amazing. Another great live band who goes hard, and has fun. Lots of smiles from the band as they saw the crowd having a great time. They played pretty much all of my favorite songs of theirs. ‘I Speak Astronomy’, ‘Judgement & Punishment’, of course ‘Pisces’ which is one of my favorite songs, period. It was cool getting them to see them play ‘Who’s Gonna Be the One’, that was the very first Jinjer song I heard, and also the first video of theirs I saw which was a live performance. When you compare how the band looks now, especially Tatiana, to then, it was many tattoos ago when that song and video came out.


They ended their set with ‘Pisces’, then walked off for the encore break. They came back about a minute later and finished off with ‘Captain Clock’ sending us all out the doors happy. I can’t wait to see Jinjer again in the future, and I recommend that you do the same if they’re coming near you on this tour!

-Bill “Furious” Groen


CHECK OUT CONCERT PICS ON OUR FACEBOOK PAGE:





Links

Jinjer

P.O.D.

Vended


Space of Variations


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page